Somethin’ Bout A Sunset

Sunset Pismo BeachWhat exactly is it that draws us to a sunset?  Is it the pure beauty of nature or is it something a little deeper? I am a fanatical sunset chaser…will go out of my way if I see a beauty ready to glow.  Even if I’m already late…which is always…I will head west to find a good spot to enjoy and capture it.  So back to my question of why???

I often ponder this obsession of mine…sometimes while watching it sink into the sea.  For me it goes beyond the beauty.  Sunsets are a reflection time for me…the end of the day and a look back at things that happened. Like reading the last chapter of a book and closing it.  It gives me peace…like a warm cozy blanket does on a cold day…contentment I suppose.

Sharing a sunset with someone is very romantic…and I’m a hopeless one that’s for certain, but I am just as happy to watch it solo.  There’s a song by Kate Nash and she sings,

I can watch a sunset on my own I can be alone, yeah I can watch a sunset on my own I can be alone I can watch a sunset on my own I can be alone, yeah

I really can relate to that…I guess it’s just where I am in my life now.

 

One thought on “Somethin’ Bout A Sunset

Leave a comment