So Long Summer It Was Fun, But I Got Nothing Done…Or Did I?

 

 

image

Summer is one of those unexplainable time vortexes.  The days are longer which bring more hours so you would assume that would equate to getting more accomplished, yet it’s also full of temptatious distractions.  I had so many plans for my summer days but so did the distractions that whispered in my ear.  I was going to clean out my garage, deep clean my house, de-clutter and donate things I no longer need, attack my laundry procrastination like a ninja and come up with a filing system for my insane pile of paperwork and last but not least, slay the beast… my 5,247 unread emails that grow by the day.

Good intentions but as I’d awaken to a hot sunshiny morning I’d hear it…”It’s a beautiful day and too hot to slave away, grab a bikini and relax by the pool.”  I’d ignore it and try to stay focused on my task but it wouldn’t shut the hell up. “What a waste of a day to sit inside. Do you know how lucky you are that you live in the perfect climate and CAN go outside? DON’T TAKE IT FOR GRANTED!”

My inner voice was yelling at me to put the damn bikini on…so I obeyed. I gave myself permission to breathe and enjoy life.  It’s so easy to get caught up in the overscheduled stress-filled lifestyle that we live in. Cram it all in and don’t waste a precious moment on yourself. As I get older I think about how precious time is and what we choose to do with it.  When I die will it really matter how organized I was?  Let’s face it, it’s not going to be a surprise when my family sorts through my things one day.  I’m sure they won’t know what the hell to do with the hundreds of plates but I hope that they’ll have one big dinner party and use them…then celebrate my life by throwing them down and smashing em’ all in true Smashgirl style 🙂

Well I don’t really plan on leaving this world anytime soon I hope, so while I’m here I’m not going to feel the guilt of enjoying my life.

Welcome Fall…leaf piles to stomp in, hot cocoa to drink and snuggly blankets by the fire.  Happiness is my priority 🙂

Leave a Reply

