The Pretender

My damaged heart…full of cracks that have never properly healed.

Heartache and mistakes, and fear of more.

Barricades and barbed wire, I built up walls.

No one gets past.

But somehow you touched my heart.  The sign was up, the guards were on duty but you got in.

I pretended I didn’t feel it.  I should have been a damn actor.

Time and distance protects me from slipping.

Falling…

Melting into your arms…

Nope. Locked up tighter than a penitentiary.

Lockdown. Lost the key.

It’s the greatest robbery in history… the day you stole my heart.

I can pretend I don’t love you…act like I don’t care.

But my act is over.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

